Managing a growing project

Started by
14 comments, last by a light breeze 5 years, 9 months ago

Hello all! Thanks for taking the time to read this post.

This is a bit of a strange subject, but a very important one nonetheless in my opinion. I've been programming for about 7 years now, and over this duration I've made over 10 small but complete games. Over the past few years, I started working on a bigger project, and this has been through two prototypes. I've noticed that every time one of these prototypes reaches a certain size, the code becomes more and more intertwined and interdependent to the point where productivity slows to a halt and eventually just stops. 

A lot of people tell me to "create small games" and "see them through to completion", but I have indeed done this, and this problem seems to persist. I'm not working on something overly ambitious or impossible to complete, but it always seems like when I try to create a game with any kind of substance or complexity, coding very quickly becomes this awful chore of backtracking, and progress slows and slows to a halt. I've done lots of research into programming patterns, and I write my code very meticulously with lots of comments and strict formatting, but I can't seem to jump this barrier.

For the first time ever, recently, I decided to COMPLETELY document every single aspect of my game, so that creating content won't involve me having to over-engineer and future-proof my code in the hope of future additions. This way, I can completely design the architecture around this content and then shut the doors and agree to not add any more content, no matter how tempting it may be. However, I'm not too sure how to go about starting a new project in a way that will ensure quality control and a nice balance of readability/cohesiveness/modularity.