• Advertisement
ethancodes

Genesis/SNES graphics style

I'm in somewhat unfamiliar territory here, but I'm designing a game that I want to look like the old Sega Genesis and SNES games. Think Earthworm Jim, Vectorman, Comix Zone, or Toe Jam and Earl. While these all have various art styles, they still have that kind of Sega/SNES feel to them in imagery and animation. How would you go about getting that? Is it just simply how the art and animations are created? Or do you actually need to program something, maybe modify the engine, to get this type of behavior? Sorry if this is a dumb or poorly worded question. Graphics are something I have very little experience in. Also, if it matters, I would like it to be a 2.5D game, which is different than the games I listed I believe. I'm not sure if that would effect how to get to the end result or not.

Advertisement

The 16-bit style was originally a result of the hardware limitations. For example, the SNES had a maximum of 256 unique colors on screen at the same time, no alpha blending, limited number of simultaneous sprites, limited sprite size and a relatively small resolution.

Pixel art can be made in any 2D drawing application. Animations will consist of different frames.

There are a lot of tutorials for pixel art you can learn from such as:

http://makegames.tumblr.com/post/42648699708/pixel-art-tutorial

https://www.hongkiat.com/blog/pixel-art-tutorials/

https://lospec.com/pixel-art-tutorials

You can use any free 2d art program, or Photoshop / Gimp (free alternative).

There is also this program: https://www.piskelapp.com/

A long time ago I used GraphicsGale for animations: https://graphicsgale.com/us/

If you're looking at making 2.5D Art, you have two options, 3D modeling and texturing then render it out, or if you're good enough you can pixel art it. I personally use the 3D route.