Advice on increasing sales

Started by
6 comments, last by Beosar 5 years, 10 months ago

Hi,

I released my first game (some kind of voxel RPG in space) on Steam Early Access about 3 weeks ago and I'm wondering what I could do to increase sales. The problem is that I'm working on this alone and I'm not good at graphics design etc., so it is not finished, meaning it lacks some textures and animations for the voxel models. The voxel world itself is kind of "finished", but since I had no time to add more biomes, it looks like Minecraft. The unique selling point is that the blocks are smaller, mountains are higher, there are quests, and different planets that you can fly to on your spaceship.

I don't know how to continue... I need money to live, but I can also understand that people hesitate to buy the game in this early stage - but this is not helpful since I cannot continue the development without any money, so I would have to find a job and do the development in my spare time. It would basically take decades to finish the game if I did it alone. So far, I sold less than 100 units. The price is $8.99. I feel like I just cannot charge less (with the exception of sales) given that the game has been in development for over 3 years and I need to make money.

I tried advertising my trailer on YouTube, but that doesn't look promising so far, although I got 36% view rate (30 seconds watched or clicked on the ad out of all impressions), which seems a bit high given that I personally skip ads much more often.

Anyway, do you know what's best here?

Cheers

Advertisement

Can we see a link to your game on Steam? It will help if we can see the game and how you're describing it.

Have you tried any marketing other than sharing the trailer on YouTube?  Do you have social accounts for the game, have you sent out press releases, etc.?

- Jason Astle-Adams

Yeah a link to a steam page would be nice

I was not sure if I'm allowed to share that link, but since you asked...