Starting Out on a Game Project

Started by
8 comments, last by djf1084 5 years, 9 months ago

Hi there, id like to ask a little advice from people as im sure theres heaps of experience here!

My first passion is writing, but ive always had an interest in games. I'm not a coder, although I did study cobol and Pascal and a little C back many many many (many many) moons ago, and am very literate with computers. Ive learned photoshop, illustrator, 3d design, not to perfection but I'm progressing.

I started a new book project, but I have the desire to actually make a game from it instead. The idea is to go ahead and do it myself to begin with and them maybe later I can see about getting help or others involved if and when I reach that point. What I want to get right is the engine choice. Im between Unity and Unreal and im kind of struggling to decide. On the surface Unreal would seem to be more suited, its going to be First Person, with a kind os semi open world, I mean large areas for exploration, a lot of outdoor areas for one part and some futuristic City areas for the other. 

Either engine I have learning to do, I have worked with engines before a long time ago I think it was the very first Unreal ED so imagine how long, but I remember the basics and ill happily challenge myself to learn as I go, its something ill enjoy so that's not the issue. Id like eventually to produce something with good graphics and capabilities, not just an indie title because im very passionate about the plot, characters and setting, its something I really want to bring to life and as a gamer, I think its perfectly suited to gaming platform as much as a book.