Open Source Games & Good programming practices?

Started by
3 comments, last by mr_tawan 5 years, 7 months ago

Hello everyone,

I have been programming games for about 3 years now mostly in Unity/C# (alot of my knowledge comes from youtube tuts) and now i feel kinda stuck and don't really know what i should learn/improve. My goal is it to get a job as a Gameplay programmer and i feel like a big problem is the code structure. So i was wondering whats a good way to improve that ( where can i learn good practices and code structure). Are there any good open source projects that i can look at and learn from? Since it doesn't really help if i just look up random open source projects since i won't really know if they are good examples.

Also maybe someone has some good advice because i want to make games and want to make games with other people but every hobby project i join ends up abandoned.

Thanks for any answers.

Advertisement

Have you read Game Programming Patterns?  It's freely available online, or you can purchase eBooks or print copies to support the author.  Examples are in C++, but the concepts will be applicable to (almost) any programming language.

There are also some free computer science courses online (like this one from Stanford - if you search you'll find others) that might help fill in some of the concepts you may not be learning if you're predominantly self-taught with YouTube tutorials.  A good exposure to topics like data structures, algorithms, etc. will likely help you to better reason about and structure your programs.

Over a long term, I recommend doing most or all of the things outlined in the post "Become a Good Programmer in Six Really Hard Steps".