• Advertisement
Decoy82

Programming Practice & Refreshers

Hello all,

I posted a similar question in the Career Development forum but didn't get any response, so thought I'd try here. 

Basically, I got a Computer Science degree in 2004, then joined the military and didn't code for over a decade. When I got out a couple years ago I started to dabble a bit, remembered how much I love programming, and decided to pursue that old dream of making games. I've now got about a month until I graduate with a Game Dev & Programming degree. 

There's not much game dev opportunities where I'm at (Kansas City), so I'll be trying to start out with a general Software Engineering job. Any suggestions for resources to continue to refresh and build my programming skills? Particularly in some of those core CS concepts that have faded away.

I've used hackerrank.com, which has been helpful. Any other sites that are similar?

Dan

Advertisement

I found some software engineering companies had some test projects on their websites that people could do and then send to them as part of a pre-interview process.  That was some years ago and I've forgotten the names of those companies now, but you could look for those.

When looking for new skills to learn, I would look up job listings and research the things they were looking for and try to do small test projects with those skills.  That's how I learnt about MongoDb and Amazon Web Services.

My company once hired one guy out of 3 potentials because he was the only one who had published a small game on Android, it was a very buggy side scroller that kept crashing, but it was better than the other 2 guys who had just a degree.

If I was looking for a job with little available I'd make a free wordpress blog or similar and make small projects and see if you can host them on the website to download, that would impress.

Thanks for the replay @Brobot9k