WinAPI Raw Input confusion

Started by
8 comments, last by trill41 5 years, 4 months ago

I'm quite new to the windows api and raw input is for lack of better terms kicking my tail. I've initialized it in my program, called and defined in the window proc with WM_INPUT, and I'm definitely receiving inputs. However that pesky key repeat delay is still there... First question would be is this direction I should be going programming an input framework in windows? Or is there a more recommended method in modern windows coding when needing on the fly and latency free response?

Here is my window proc:

LRESULT CALLBACK WindowProc(HWND hwnd, UINT uMsg, WPARAM wParam, LPARAM lParam)
{
	switch (uMsg)
	{
	case WM_CLOSE:
		PostQuitMessage(0);
		break;
	case WM_DESTROY:
		return 0;
	case WM_INPUT:
	{
		char keyBuffer[sizeof(RAWINPUT)] = {};
		UINT KBsize = sizeof(RAWINPUT);
		GetRawInputData(reinterpret_cast<HRAWINPUT>(lParam), RID_INPUT, keyBuffer, &KBsize, sizeof(RAWINPUTHEADER));
		RAWINPUT *raw = (RAWINPUT*)keyBuffer;
		if (raw->header.dwType == RIM_TYPEMOUSE)
		{
			// read the mouse data
		}
			if (raw->header.dwType == RIM_TYPEKEYBOARD)
			{
				// Get key value from the keyboard member (of type RAWKEYBOARD)
				USHORT keyCode = raw->data.keyboard.VKey;
				switch (keyCode) {
				case VK_ESCAPE:
					PostQuitMessage(0);
					break;
				case 0x41:
					theta += 1.0f; // Rotate left when A is pressed.
					break;
				case 0x44:
					theta -= 1.0f; // Rotate right when D is pressed.
					break;
				}
			}	
	}
	return 0;
	default:
		return DefWindowProc(hwnd, uMsg, wParam, lParam);
	}
	return 0;
}