Advertisement Jump to content
achiga

3D Understand the implementation of sobel filter

I am new to shader programming. I was learning how to detect edges using shaders these days. And I found the UnityChan toon shader project. But I found it difficulty to understand when I read its implementation of sobel filter.

Especially for these s few lines:(From Line166)

depthsDiag.x = Linear01Depth(SAMPLE_DEPTH_TEXTURE(_CameraDepthTexture,i.uv[1]+uvDist)); // TR
        depthsDiag.y = Linear01Depth(SAMPLE_DEPTH_TEXTURE(_CameraDepthTexture,i.uv[1]+uvDist*float2(-1,1))); // TL
        depthsDiag.z = Linear01Depth(SAMPLE_DEPTH_TEXTURE(_CameraDepthTexture,i.uv[1]-uvDist*float2(-1,1))); // BR
        depthsDiag.w = Linear01Depth(SAMPLE_DEPTH_TEXTURE(_CameraDepthTexture,i.uv[1]-uvDist)); // BL

depthsAxis.x = Linear01Depth(SAMPLE_DEPTH_TEXTURE(_CameraDepthTexture,i.uv[1]+uvDist*float2(0,1))); // T
        depthsAxis.y = Linear01Depth(SAMPLE_DEPTH_TEXTURE(_CameraDepthTexture,i.uv[1]-uvDist*float2(1,0))); // L
        depthsAxis.z = Linear01Depth(SAMPLE_DEPTH_TEXTURE(_CameraDepthTexture,i.uv[1]+uvDist*float2(1,0))); // R
        depthsAxis.w = Linear01Depth(SAMPLE_DEPTH_TEXTURE(_CameraDepthTexture,i.uv[1]-uvDist*float2(0,1))); // B

depthsDiag -= centerDepth;
        depthsAxis /= centerDepth;

It seems to try to get the diagonal and axial depth values. But I don't know why we need to substract centerDepth from depthsDiag and divide depthsAxis by centerDepth?

Another confusion comes from these a few lines when it tries to return the final color from fragment shader:(From line 191)

float SobelX = dot(SobelH, float4(1,1,1,1));

float SobelY = dot(SobelV, float4(1,1,1,1));
  float Sobel = sqrt(SobelX * SobelX + SobelY * SobelY);

Sobel = 1.0-pow(saturate(Sobel), _Exponent);
  //NK
  float4 Col = tex2D(_MainTex, i.uv[0].xy);
  Col = _EdgesColor * Col * (1.0 - Sobel) + Sobel;
  return Col * lerp(tex2D(_MainTex, i.uv[0].xy), _TestColor, _BgFade);