• Advertisement
Osaid

how do i make 2d pixel games from scratch

i am a beginner and i want to learn how to make 2d pixel games from scratch, i want to know what programming language i should learn, what to know, i will design my own assets and do my own art and get sound effects, but for now i just don't know how to program and i don't know where to start. as you need to be a good programmer to make games from scratch i wonder how i will be good at it, i don't know if i should learn all the programming language or i need to know the parts that i will use, but i know that making game from scratch will improve your programming skills and it's better, most of the pixel games i googled they made their own game engine i thought i need to be a good programmer to do that

Advertisement

I highly recommend not making your own game engine, since there are plenty of great engines already made. Gamemaker is great for 2D games. Unity is pretty good for 2D games as well. My favorite though, UE4  is not so great for 2D games. At least 2D with 2D assets. There are other engines too.

Pick one engine and start making something simple like a character that walks around, just a basic character will do, either take free sprites or make basic shapes.

Then pick a game, like Super Meat Boy or Super Mario Bros. and go through and write down everything on the first level. All the distinct items, all the distinct level objects, all the enemies, and everything that the player can do. You will likely be surprised by the amount of things there are in even the most basic seeming game. Once you have your list, you will have a list of all the graphics and animations you will need to create. Make just one level of the game.