• Advertisement

Hello!

I'm starting to do skeletal animations, a few questions have appeared.
1. I noticed that the examples use exactly 4 indexes and weights per vertex. This is due to the attributes in OpenGL. So, do all models have up to 4 indices and weights per vertex? Does it make sense to expand this value?
2. Are there any non-complex but effective tutorials on skeleton animations? If yes, I would appreciate the link.

I will be grateful for the answers

Advertisement

I'm no expert here, but 4 weights probably looks good enough in most cases so that became the standard (anything more and you'd probably run out of registers on the GPU with a complex model). I'm about to tackle the same exact issue and my plan is as follows: create something very simple, like a 2D skeletal animation with only 2 or 3 bones (maybe just a piece of grass swaying in the wind), then gradually expand that to full functionality, by making it 3D, adding more bones and loading models, etc. I'm also looking for a tutorial that explain this simply, how to start small, and then gradually build up.

When I think about it, the only place on a biped that would use more than two weights per vertex would be in the facial regions. Arms, legs, fingers, etc. would not. In a lot of systems I've seen, it's the bone count that needs expanding. Fixing an array size is a pretty good optimization instead of going with a heavier container. I'm not sure the DCC will cap the number of weights. Probably not, so it is possible to overrun the weight count if not handled properly during load or conversion.

There is [ ogldev - tutorial 38 ] but my current go to is this. I ignore that it's java.. 

2 hours ago, GoliathForge said:

... but my current go to is this. I ignore that it's java.. 

In these video tutorials how many indexes and weights per vertex?