Which game engine for text adventure.

Started by
10 comments, last by Pepsidog 5 years ago

I want to create a massive text-based RPG, but when I used twine, I had way too many passages and couldn't tell what went where.  Is there a better IF tool?  I would like hyperlinks instead of commands.

I am an indie game developer who enjoys pixel art games.

Advertisement

I think there was a plugin for unity that allowed you to do this but i dont remember the name. Ill look it up and reply.

//Dre Reid\\

If you mean Fungus, then that doesn't really work.  There is no support for scrolling text.  If that could be fixed, then it would be fine.

The program you probably want to use is called Inform. http://inform7.com/

It features a natural language code structure and easily builds verb and noun pairings that allow for an amazingly complex, but easily maintained database of objects. Your creatures could be acted upon by a variety of objects in a variety of ways, for example. Of course, you can do straight forward RPG type stuff with it too.

Twine is great, but an RPG of any complexity would require you to code everything in raw HTML/JavaScript and then you'd be left wondering why you're using Twine at all.

Keep in mind that most text-based engines are geared towards "interactive fiction" (IF), and Inform is no different. If your web programming skills aren't strong, then Inform is something to try. Otherwise, I'd recommend just building a text-based RPG entirely in HTML/JavaScript. If your goal is for a standalone application (mobile/desktop), NW.js or Electron will run your web-based RPG through a Chromium browser window and let you read and write from the hard-drive, and the player wouldn't know they launched a web browser.

Good luck, Pepsidog!

I don’t think inform will work.  The dialogue system is pretty primitive.