• Advertisement
penguinnn

DX12 How can I specify which render target I'm binding to with a RWTexture2D?

I'm very new to D3D programming, and previously I always bind explicitly my texture to a render target. This time since I need to write values to a texture and then use that texture as an input, I want to try RWTexture2D. However, since I'm also using my previous method to specify other render target (I have a output color texture and other outputs), I have no idea how the order of the render targets will be..

pDstFbo->attachColorTarget(pDstTex, 0);
    pDstFbo->attachColorTarget(pMomentsTex, 1);

(I'm using some frameworks but the code should be straightforward.)

What if I want to bind my RWTexture2D texture to render target at slot 2? Can I specify this in the shader code? 

RWTexture2D gPrevMoments;	// current code, which do not specify which slot in the render target it is bound to

Can I do

RWTexture2D gPrevMoments : register(u2);	// bind to render target SV_TARGET2?

Advertisement

Unordered Access Views (UAVs) work differently in D3D12 than they did in D3D11, since D3D12 has entirely new binding model. In D3D11 if you wanted to write to a UAV (such as a RWBuffer or RWTexture2D) from a pixel shader, you had to use OMSetRenderTargetsAndUnorderedAccessViews and bind all of your render targets and UAVs to shared render target slots. In D3D12 you instead need to build a root signature that includes a UAV descriptor range, and then make sure that you bind a descriptor table containing UAV descriptors to the corresponding root descriptor slot on the command list. It's basically if the same thing that you do for binding SRVs (read-only textures and buffers), if you're familiar with how that works.