• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
phoz

new developer here

Posted (edited)

Hi there, Im training to be a game developer, been training for years, im 42 now and I have experienced to early days of gaming as a kid, programming machine code on my 8-bit zx spectrum and then later messing with my commodore amiga mainly using deluxe paint, but that's all old stuff. I'm learning c & c++ & c# .trying to focus on c & c++ first and keeping a mental note of what is relevant to each language. I got my books for reference material, my pc with decent spec win 10 x64 dirctx12 capable graphics card, visual studio Im also a 2d/3d artist and have 3d sculpting/modelling/painting/rendering software which im working on some game assets. then im also a musician, make sequence music, Ive studied sound engineering and played in a band when I was younger, I can play guitar/record too.

what really like to is some retro-inspired games but with using all of the power available to a directx12 app, If you remember the megadrive/snes and if you've played any mame arcade games id like to make some games that have that feel from that era and id like to use tracker music, like make some chiptunes and stuff, but id still like to design a game that uses the graphical power on a modern system, just in a sort of 3d retro flavour.....

I spent a lot of time years back thumbing through game development books but im trying at compiling bits of code and it makes sense now that I was told the best way to learn is through actually getting stuck in and writing code.

I'd like it if some dev with coding experience could take me under their wing and get me up to speed, everything else is going well.

I could provide assets as an artist/musician and id like to start a project. reply if u think you can help :)

anyway hi and ill be posting on here regular :)

Edited by phoz

Advertisement

Hello and welcome!

You have come to the right place for everything game-development, I think :)