drawing triangle

Started by
21 comments, last by jbadams 4 years, 10 months ago

well I am working on a direct x tutorial, I have  drawn a triangle with colors, I want to change  the colors of the  triangle. I am very new to direct x, go easy on me.

int x = 255, y = 255, z = 255;

// this is the function that puts the 3D models into video RAM
void init_graphics(void)
{
	// create the vertices using the CUSTOMVERTEX struct
	CUSTOMVERTEX vertices[] =
	{
		{ 400.0f, 62.5f, 0.5f, 1.0f, D3DCOLOR_XRGB(x--, 0,  0), },
		{ 650.0f, 500.0f, 0.5f, 1.0f, D3DCOLOR_XRGB(0, 0, y--), },
		{ 150.0f, 500.0f, 0.5f, 1.0f, D3DCOLOR_XRGB(0, z--, 0), },
	};

Advertisement

The colors are defined by the D3DCOLOR_XRGB macros. The three parameters are R, G and B part of the color.

I'd get a different tutorial. This code names the R, G, B parts with x, y, z (which is highly confusing).

Fruny: Ftagn! Ia! Ia! std::time_put_byname! Mglui naflftagn std::codecvt eY'ha-nthlei!,char,mbstate_t>

we could ignore that and consider it perhaps an inkling towards the swizzle concept. Hi Phil :) 

If you do it on the path you are on, you will have to update your buffer per an interval or per frame. DirectX9 is fine, There are some cool things that lived in that space, I'm thinking the .fx format which I thought was neat (when I had it working), umm...the era of the .x file format. That thing I thought would live forever. Funny how that goes. There's a nice long trek ahead on this path...

When I go to pull the documentation on this I get [ docs.ms/d3d9/acessing the contents of a vertex buffer ] 

And the relevant [ docs.ms/d3d9/creating a vertex buffer ]

The other option is through the programmable shader pipeline. Which will be quite some setup if you're not there already. The decrement thing in the array initialization is weird. 

12 hours ago, GoliathForge said:

you will have to update your buffer per an interval or per frame.

can you explain this further