Poll: How often do you buy the latest gaming PC?

Started by
13 comments, last by warhound 4 years, 7 months ago

Just wanting to know for performance purposes.

I am an indie game developer who enjoys pixel art games.

Advertisement

My last build was .... (checks receipts)... holy crap... 5 years ago!!

I would say it was just below top of the line at the time (decent i7, r9 290).

I run all my games at 1440p on near max settings and I haven't really found a compelling reason to upgrade.

Might build a new machine next year for you though.

if you think programming is like sex, you probably haven't done much of either.-------------- - capn_midnight

Thanks for the feedback.  So if I want to create a game for pc that people can actually run, then create a build that can run on ps4, and that's a good estimate.  Actually, why not just add graphics quality sliders?

I don't buy gaming PCs.  I buy work PCs, which I then use for gaming.

I tend to buy work PCs on a five year schedule.  But the work PC I bought last year is by far the most expensive computer I ever bought, so I expect it to last maybe twice as long.  And I still went with a fairly cheap graphics card, because the graphics card is near the bottom of my list of priorities.

My main work PC runs Linux.  My secondary work PC from 2012 also runs Linux.  I also have a Mac Mini from 2015, which I pretty much only use for testing the Mac version of my games and for GarageBand.

I do keep a Windows PC around, both for testing my own games and for general gaming.  Usually it's a retired work PC, but my last Windows PC died when I didn't have an old work PC available to retire, so I bought a cheap used PC in 2016.  I expect that used PC was at least five years old when I bought it.

TL;DR: my Windows gaming PC tends to be in the range of 5-15 years old, so about 10 years on average.