What engine for a game?

Started by
11 comments, last by 8Observer8 4 years, 9 months ago

I want to create a game that's a mix of dnd style text adventure, and bullet hell.  Unity isn't good for text adventures, and raw javascript is hard to make games for.  What should I use?

I am an indie game developer who enjoys pixel art games.

Advertisement

Try C++. The Visual Studio free(Community) edition has some good console text programming templates.

Can it do rich text?  I don't really find terminal text very appealing.

I am an indie game developer who enjoys pixel art games.

You can always apply words text templates?

Mate, it is standardized to not contain Fixedys and Consolas anymore, which are still in the newest Windows Prompt.

What do you personally call rich text? It has all types of fonts but mostly the basic font is kinda cool while text colors can be quite easily modified.

Also the background color can be changed as well.

Background can change at any time, but you have to first clear console text/buffer.

Love2D, Game Maker, Mono Game

5 hours ago, Pepsidog said:

and raw javascript is hard to make games for.  What should I use?

Yes, JavaScript is hard for games. I study and use TypeScript. TS is very similar to C#. It has the "interface" keyword like C# and so on. TS created by Anders Hejlsberg. Anders is author of C#, Delphi and Turbo Pascal. For beginning you can use Playground for writing code and publish you examples. I wrote "Hello, World" example special for you: run it by one click in your OS. Create your classes. I have shown how to write text to the "index.html" page from the code. Program.ts/Main() is entry point of your game. You need to sign up using your GitHub account. Click the "Fork" button on Plunker, write something, click the "Save" button and give a link to me. Web apps will be available on all platforms. It is a nice place to start. Trust me.

Playground: https://next.plnkr.co/edit/dVbFhLz55YJqHfK9?preview

Output: