Creating a team for an old school FPS (Dusk, AMID, DOOM alike)

Started by
12 comments, last by Augustin Liglet 4 years, 6 months ago

I'm a programmer and craving to create an old school FPS that is fun for the core mechanic of shooting and movement.

I'm looking for team members with art, music, writing, ... skills. If you'd like to collaborate, send me your discord or skype contact and I'll add you.

Let's have fun!

Advertisement

I tried playing Doom recently, but I miss mouse aiming. I tried to run open arena on Lubuntu on an old notebook which runs TuX Kart just fine, but arena crashes. I may need to run it from console? Maybe you (as a programmer) can update that ioquake project to the standards of Super Tux Kart?

Hey, 

Music composer here from the times of counter strike 1.6 !

I'll be glad to help

Hi, thanks for the replies and all the messages,

I'm still open for artist, game designers, writers,..

Arnero, I only run linux on servers, I don't have any linux hardware for gaming, hence I can't really investigate your issue. Have you considered to go the official way and report it via: https://github.com/ioquake/ioq3/issues ? I'm sure the devs might know best what possible issues might cause the crash. Yeah, Doom controls are a bit dated, but it's still amazing to be able to play one of the oldest shooters. I guess my goal is more Quake than Doom, but I'll mix and match features as the team will decide.

Mamounetaleb, thanks for your help offer. When I'm down to add music to the game, I'll definitely consider you. Do you have a portfolio you could link?

Thanks again everyone!

Hey,

You can have a look at my Portfolio here : 

I also have a youtube channel driven more toward action music that you check here :

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCFNKA865NAZ5tgFT3sahVWg

On 7/8/2019 at 11:00 AM, ProfL said:

Hi, thanks for the replies and all the messages,

I'm still open for artist, game designers, writers,..