Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Kanzetsu

[java] High-resolution timers

Kanzetsu    122
Is there any way to get a timer with higher resolution than System.currentTimeMilli's 10 ms under NT? Using JDK1.1? // Kanzetsu Edited by - Kanzetsu on December 9, 2001 8:50:38 PM

a person    118
probally not, since java is designed to be cross platform excutable. though i am not a java expert, i do know that the most accurate clock the pc has is using the RDSTC instruction (or QueryPerformanceCounter of the windows api which basically does th RDSTC for you) its x86 specifc though and not what ou are lookig for, but may help if you can get hava to allow certain win32 api calls.

Chaoslab    116
I ran into this problem when in Nebuloids a while ago.

As System.currentTimeMillis() is only good for about a 18 frames a secound game which is a little chunky....

I solved the problem by running a low priority thread that just sleep the right time and incremented a variable and I used that for my frame ticks and it works quite well....

:-)

Kanzetsu    122
Hmm, this is very interesting. Could you please explain on how to achieve this? If I put a delay(25) in my main game loop, that will actually have the precise same effect as a delay(30) because of the 10 ms resolution. Is adjusting thread priorities the trick to gaining a more precise timer?

// Kanzetsu

Edited by - Kanzetsu on December 10, 2001 5:53:20 PM

master_ball    132
Try timeGetTime() (Win32 API).

For Windows NT: The default precision of the timeGetTime function can be five milliseconds or more, depending on the machine. You can use the timeBeginPeriod and timeEndPeriod functions to increase the precision of timeGetTime. If you do so, the minimum difference between successive values returned by timeGetTime can be as large as the minimum period value set using timeBeginPeriod and timeEndPeriod.