Unity C# Basics learning

Started by
10 comments, last by Rutin 4 years, 7 months ago

Hi everyone. I basically just got Unity, and I'm just starting out with scripting with c#, or rather, I am utterly lost, heh.

I could use some assistance. I'm doing a very basic 2D project to just learn how to code. And I have some trouble, I am getting a compiling error and I don't know what's wrong:

using System.Collections;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using UnityEngine;

public class Player1_Controls : MonoBehaviour {

public float speed = 10f;
	// Use this for initialization
	void Start () {

}

// Update is called once per frame
	void Update () {

float Dirx = Input.GetAxis ("Horizontal") * speed * Time.deltaTime;

void SetTransformX(float n){
			transform.position = new Vector3(n, transform.position.y, transform.position.z);
		}
		void Update (){
			SetTransformX(7.0f);
		}
	}
}

Advertisement
8 minutes ago, Zebura said:

I am getting a compiling error

Include the actual error, copy & paste it.

EDIT: Actually, I saw it.

In C#, you cannot have functions inside other functions. Move SetTransformX and Update outside of Update.

Also, You can't have 2 functions with the same name.

Hello to all my stalkers.

Ahh. I see. Thank you for pointing that out, I got that part working now.

When you're posting about compile errors it would help to post the actual error message you're receiving.

Is there a reason you're not doing this:

private float speed = 10f;
    private float Dirx = 0f;

// Start is called before the first frame update
    void Start()
    {

}

// Update is called once per frame
    void Update()
    {
        Dirx = Input.GetAxis("Horizontal") * speed * Time.deltaTime;

SetTransformX(7.0f);
    }

// ...
    void SetTransformX(float n)
    {
        transform.position = new Vector3(n, transform.position.y, transform.position.z);
    }