Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Im a big Newbie now

STL question

Hi all, Im working on a project right now that heavily utilizes the STL. (mostly vectors). I read somewhere that the STL invokes copy constructors when dealing with the data it stores. My question is... What are copy constructors? are they slow? should I use use "new" and "delete" instead with the containers? I read that it dosent matter much when dealing with small data like ints. but I have classes that have vectors that own vectors which own vectors. These can grow very large... should I really be "copy constructing" things this big? where do I draw the line? I would really hate to rewrite tons of code, plus working with new and delete makes my code much less clean (not to mention complicated , and memleak vunerable). but im willing to sacrafice simplicity for speed. One more thing... NEHE is great and all, but where do I find out how to optimize the living hoohaa out of opengl? or anything else for that matter ( ex: casting an float to an int with memory addresses instead of "int SomeInt = (int)SomeFloat;" )

Russell    118
A copy constructor simple creates a copy of a class. For example if you have a class named MyClass, then you could make a copy of an instance of this class by the following:

MyClass a;
a.Initialize();
Myclass b(a); // Creates a copy of a and stores it in b

Now, what you want to avoid is passing these kinds of data structures to functions "by value". For example, if you have a function:

void MyIntFunction(int n);

it''s ok to pass a copy of that int, because an int is only 32-bits in size, and you can pass a copy of that without it slowing your program down very much. Now let''s say you have another function:

bool MyVectorFunction(vector<MyClass> v);