Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

CTRL_ALT_DELETE

plotting a pixel

I am trying to directly manipulate a surface to plot a pixel. Right now i am calling a function that says something like: bool particles::Draw(LPDIRECTDRAWSURFACE s, int r, int g, int b) { BYTE* dest =NULL; //destination DDSURFACEDESC ddsd; //create a descriptor //init descriptor memset(&ddsd, 0, sizeof(DDSURFACEDESC)); ddsd.dwSize = sizeof(ddsd); //LOCK THE SURFACE if(FAILED(s->Lock(NULL, &ddsd, DDLOCK_WAIT, NULL))) return FALSE; //Huston, there is a problem. //find out where we are going dest = static_cast(ddsd.lpSurface) //write the data /*gives me errors here*/ *(dest+m_xpos+m_ypos*SCREEN_WIDTH) = (r<<16)|(g<<8)|b; s->Unlock(NULL); return TRUE; I checked out the gamedev resources on plotting pixels, but they were dealing with methoeds a little bit more advanced than I want to deal with. I am still learning. Thanks. Edited by - CTRL_ALT_DELETE on December 18, 2001 5:54:02 PM

a person    118
first off read the docs on lock() and be enlightened.

secondly the only things i see wrong are that you should be using the pitch of the surface not the screen_wdith. secondly you better not be reading form a vram surface or wave good nye to your frame rate. finnally dont lock() the surface for every pixel you plot. thats just plain stupid (and massivly slow). how are they more advanced then you want to deal with? plotting pixels is modifying memory. it cant get more simple then that. also explain what you errors are. unless you mean it crashes there.

I fave read the docs, a person, but they aren't helping me with my problem; that's why I am asking you.

I realize that this is slow, and eventually I will write on routine that will plot all of my pixels with one lock and unlock call, but I want it to work first.

I was able to get my function to work, where I am having problems is getting it to disblay the rigt color.. right now I am using the expression r<<16|g<<8|b