• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

drdarkon

Beginner with a question

This topic is 6201 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey everyone, I''m sorta new to programming and need some help, if you dont mind. I''m not a total newbie, I have made a pong game in Windows GDI. I have made a sorta okay in an cruddy little engine I found, but it was good for me then. I have been looking into this Direct X 8 and seeing how it is different completely different from Direct X 7. I have read the tutorials on this sight about them and people have suggested I look into something like D3DSPRITE. I''m not sure exactly what that is and I was wondering if you had any good tutorials on how to use and implement that from start to finish. Also, as a beginner, do you think I should use someone else''s engine or spend a little time creating my own. Does it take long to make my own simple rendering system in Direct X 8? Or is it too difficult for someone at my stage of experience. Much appreciated if you could help. - Jesse

Advertisement
Yes, it will take MUCH time to create your own 3D engine, but you also will surely learn much while writing them. (Them --> I bet you will write your first, throw it away; write the second, surely better one, but throw it away. After some iterations you will finally be pleased.)

OmniBrain, actually doing the 5th iteration.

quote:

Yes, it will take MUCH time to create your own 3D engine