• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Trin

Book: "The Zen of Direct3D" Sample Problems

This topic is 6194 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi all I bought the "The Zen Of Direct3D" and tried to run a few samples on it.... and the don't work. They just display a black screen, nothing else. Even a simple static triangle sample doesn't work. I sent it over to a friend who tested it aswell, same black screen. i am a beginner in D3D and not a master in C++, i have no chance to figure it out myself. -The samples are coded for DX8.0, i am running Windows XP which uses DX8.1. Could this be a problem? I doubt it .... -Does anyone know the book and the samples? Perhaps they run for you? -What else can i do? Thanks for your help!! // Trin Edited by - Trin on December 27, 2001 5:20:07 PM

Advertisement
Hi Trin,
I''ve got that book and the samples - ones that actually are on the cd (most of them aren''t) do work, I''m running win98 with DirectX V8.0

Hope this helps ?

sTeVe

yea Zen''s code on cd is buggy, most of the stuff I read in book was good but I used the sdk for learning how to write the code . Also http://nexe.gamedev.net and www.drunkenhyena.com use those sites to

Eric Wright o0Programmer0o

NeXe

My Homepage

thanx for the quick help, guys. yep, i tried to run the samples from the cd, and they don''t work. that is why i asked.

just found the website www.drunkenhyena.com before i read your replies. i will check these tutorials. thanx again!

just get the static triangle to work in windowed mode. for a reason i have no clue about it doesn''t work for me in fullscreen.

i thought i mention it, perhaps someone else can use it ....

Trin,