• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

shalom

Linking errors

This topic is 6110 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I have never written large programs in C++ before, so I''m having trouble getting used to keeping programs in several files. I''m having a weird linking error. I defined a class in one file. I am including this file in the main file. I am getting the following linking error: MyFileName.obj : error LNK2005: "public: __thiscall MyClassName::MyClassName(MyArgumentList)" (??0MyClassName@@QAE@PAUHINSTANCE__@@PAUHWND__@@@Z) already defined in Input.obj This is obviously for my constructor (MyClassName::MyClassName). It comes up with similar messages for my other member functions. Then, it comes up with: Debug/MyFileName.exe : fatal error LNK1169: one or more multiply defined symbols found It seems that I am defining my classes functions more than once, but I''m not. For some reason, I got it to work the first couple of times using strange methods. I commented out all of the code (determined to find out the problem) of the class, and since it wasn''t called anywhere, it compiled and ran fine. Then, when I uncommented it, it still worked. However, when I did a major change such as add a function or something, it came up with the same errors and I had to do it again. Not only did this become a hassle (having to comment out all calls the the class, too), it also seems rediculous and odd. I feel like this is some dumb problem, but I guess I''m dumb and please help me. Thank you. In my thunking device, what happens to the inherited pointer to the original base class when I override the function & how do I access it in my inline assembly code, assuming that we are referencing the higher byte of the 16-bit variable?

Advertisement