• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

JoshG

Review Engine

This topic is 6107 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, I''ve been experimenting with the idea of building a game engine for the experience. I want it to be 3D and to be in OpenGL. I have had a few ideas in the way that i would implement it, and seeing I have had no previous experience doing such a thing, I''d like your opinions. I was planning on spliting the engine into 5 threads. (is this a common thing to do?) Graphics Thread (o) - Manages displaying things on the screen Sound Thread (o) - Manages playing sounds Input Thread (i) - Takes input from user and changes required values Physics Thread (io) - Manages projectiles, and Particle Emitters Network Thread (io) - Manages getting updated information from the network Each thread would hold a pointer back to a class full of values that can be altered by any thread, and then be displayed by the other treads. Each main function of the thread would be placed inside a .dll file, so they can be changed easily and updated. I was wondering if this kind of design would have any effect on performance, ie, does it sound like it will be slow? are there any other common methods for implementing an engine? I''ve heard of Finite State Machines, but I''m not quite sure I want to go there. Thanks for your input! --Josh

Advertisement
Decoupling the physic''s calculations from the graphic''s rendering isn''t a great idea, unless you plan on optimizing for and runniing on SMP computers. There''s nothing new to show if the tokens haven''t moved.

A high priority thread to fill sound buffers is a virtual requirement, as such many APIs provide this functionality. If you haven''t finished the physic calculations, you can''t make (good) decisions about sound sources.