How program a cargame?

Started by
25 comments, last by Datatubbe 22 years, 3 months ago
okay, first stop here since i'm a newbie to this place... I am a real fan of Need For Speed 5, but now it's 2 years since it was out and i want to make a new game in that genre. so my question is: How do i create a car game, it shall be playable on windows xp/win2k, and so much compatible for computers with less than 1GHz prossessor, and 256MB ram. I want it to be a real good game. I want to make a game where u can play multiplayer... Plz give me any info at all how to start, i am really exited. - Datatubbe They didn't accept me in the Teletubby World! Edited by - Datatubbe on January 1, 2002 11:09:23 PM
------------------------------ DatatubbeThey didn't accept me in the Tubby World!
Advertisement
if (!programmer)
{
learnCPP = TRUE;
}

I wanna'' ride on the pope mobile.
Could you possibly make that any more obscure? The only people who would understand it won''t benefit from that advice.

Datatubbe, learn a programming language if you don''t already know one. Learn how to do 2D graphics, then 3D graphics. I learned in this order since 3D builds from the 2D principles and I feel it will minimize the inevitable confusion.

Make a few small games to learn how to tie everything together. There are some really good tutorials on this site, and a lot of other sites with complete source code so you can see different ways these games can be implemented.

In the meantime, play every car sim you can get your hands on and analyze the hell out of them. I mean not only decide which you like, but specifically WHY you like them. What did they do right? What did the others do wrong? Is there something you would have done differently?