Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

GBA dev and tile sizes

This topic is 5815 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am looking into developing a 2d side-scroller GBA game as a hobby project and let me say up front that I am an graphic artist and not a coder. For now I am looking into the feasibility of my idea. What I''d like to know, and hopefully somebody can answer this, is what the possibilities are for the background scrolling side of the game. I know that a way to create the scrolling background layer(s) is to create 1 image file that contains small square tile images that u use to construct your background with. What I didn''t find in the tutorials I''ve found online is what the biggest tile size can be. And is "tiles" the only way to create a scrolling background landscape? Can''t you just use a long image of a landscape that is repeated endless?

for GBA h/w you can create display images in two different ways. Tiles and pixels. Using the bitmap modes (3,4,5) you can have more colors but at a smaller resolution. Tile modes (0,1,2) are setup so you place your tiles into VRAM and it will display and scroll them as necassary (to a degree). Programming for the GBA is not something to be attempted by non-coders. Not trying to stop you, just saying look for a partner in crime.

the visual specs go something like this:

mode 0, Tiles, 4 layers, 256 or 16x16 colors, 1024 sprites, layers are 256x256 or 512x512 (depending on colors used(i think))

mode 1, Tiles, 1 layers, 256 colors, 256 sprites, layers are 128x128 to 1024x1024

mode 2, Tiles, 2 layers, 256 colors, 256 sprites, layers are 128x128 to 1024x1024

mode 3, Bitmap, 32768 colors, 1 frame, 240x160

mode 4, Bitmap, 256 colros, 2 frames, 240x160

mode 5, Bitmap, 32768 colors, 2 frames 160x128