Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

thedo

Why AddRef()?

thedo    124
I posted a question on a forum a while ago and one person said I shouldn''t forget to use AddRef() (the code passed a LPDIRECT3DDEVICE8 to my mesh class). Why should I do this? I have never done it before and my code has always *seemed* to run fine. If LPDIRECT3DDEVICE8 is only a pointer to an IDirect3DDevice8 anyway, I''m not duplicating the Device, just copying a pointer to it. According to the docs I would also need to call the Release() for every AddRef() I call. If I forget this then surely I might end up with memeory leaks. I just don''t know why this needs to be done. Input please. Neil (Sorry if that seemed like ranting - it wasn''t meant to - I just feel like i''m missing out on something really simple) WHATCHA GONNA DO WHEN THE LARGEST ARMS IN THE WORLD RUN WILD ON YOU?!?!

CrazedGenius    156
AddRef increases the reference count
Release decreases the reference count and destroys the object when the reference count becomes zero

AddRef essentially tells an object that you have a hold of it and that it shouldn''t be destroyed until you and all the other "holders" have let go (called Release). Therefore, you should call AddRef if you fear that there''s a chance that the object may be destroyed before you are done with it.

If, for some reason, you believe that this will not be an issue - that is, you know that all objects that use a Object X will be destroyed before Object X is destroyed, then you probably don''t need to call ObjectX->AddRef().

Either way, that''s the idea behind AddRef()

Promit    13246
Short answer: COM specs.