Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Brackus

I need a 'C' compiler!!!

Brackus    122
Hello, I am a University student, whose programming course this term is in ''C''. Now, I have a problem, they are installing the compiler on students computers for free, but, you have to let them install linux first. Now, I dont want linux on my computer, nor do I have the 3 gigabytes free they are saying I need, so... I was wondering, if anyone knows of a website, that I could download a NICE, FREE, STABLE compiler for windows 98??? Now, please no bashing of windows, I play games that Linux does just not like, so no cracks about "nothing is stable on windows please" But if someone could tell me where to find what I need, that would be great! Thanks, Dustin

monkeyman    253
Goto:

www.delorie.com

and download djgpp, it will be enough to get you started..

btw it''s not specific to windows, but I''ve heard rumors that you can compile win32 code with special libraries(I''ve never verified this)..

At the very least, it''s a GREAT free compiler(with lots of extras to get you going)for dos, and many people here started with it..

"Like all good things, it starts with a monkey.."

LessBread    1415
LCCWin32 for C and the Dev-C++ IDE from Bloodshed for C++ (which uses MingW) will be the easiest to get started with. Both of them have self installers and both of them will compile Win32 progs that don''t require helper libraries to run.

‘But truth's a menace, science a public danger.’ Brave New World, Aldous Huxley

Promit    13246
Microsoft Visual Studio 6.0

Before i get bashed, i should say that i know he said ''free''. Although it is a very expensive tool, it is very easy to get a ''free'' version(ie copy). It carries no copy protection at all

-----------------------------
The sad thing about artificial intelligence is that it lacks artifice and therefore intelligence.

CrazedGenius    156
Or...