Why have you started?

Started by
3 comments, last by Akeron 22 years, 3 months ago
I know it's OffTopic but... Do you program in OpenGL for hobby or you're professionists? I mean, reading all the posts you seem to me very good at this, I wondered if some of you is working in this business, if this is the case, how have you done it? I admit I'm still learning how to program in OpenGL, but I know how to program the windows API and of course I know the C which is behind, I also know how to retrieve information from databases in Visual Basic, I know Html and java-script and Director and... Ok I don't want to bore you to death but nobody here seems to be interested in someone who is a (relative) newbie in this field but wants to improve himself to be a better programmer and to serve better the company in which he works in!!! I'm unenmployed and everytime I read the job announces I feel VERY angry: you have to know TONS of things\languages to work in this field, OR you have to be YOUNG!!!! I'm NOT old, but I'm 28 and nobody wants to give me a chance to grow, it makes me want to give up forever! I've sent HUNDRED of e-mails with my curriculum, done a LOT of job colloquies and the result is ZERO! I feel very paranoid and I often think why I've decided to start to program, I only know I like it, why have you started anyway? Edited by - Akeron on January 17, 2002 7:08:03 AM Edited by - Akeron on January 17, 2002 7:09:45 AM Edited by - Akeron on January 17, 2002 7:10:28 AM Edited by - Akeron on January 17, 2002 7:11:10 AM
Advertisement
I''ve started programming for fun.
I''ve started OpenGL because that''s what my University teached. And I like it (the University or OpenGL ? )
And now OpenGL is a part of my job which is NOT in the gaming industry.