Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Strifey

How much math??

Strifey    122
hello, i am new to programmig and kinda stalled with no cash for boooks but thats not anything im asking now. my question is how much math is used in programing for games im currently in pre calculass and im a senior in high school, but ive done a little calculas in my physics class so how much in the three do you use?

mossmoss    326
Plenty -- all of computer science is based on mathematics.

Less abstractly, it depends on what you want to do. A good knowledge of discrete mathematics is good all around for general computer science.

For graphics (2D&3D), knowledge of linear algebra is essential. Matrics, vector spaces, etc...

Calculus can be quite useful too.

---- --- -- -
Blue programmer needs food badly. Blue programmer is about to die!

granat    122
For game programming math is GOOD !

Me 10 years ago:
"Math !!! Math !!?? I don''t need no stinkin'' math !!!!"

Me now:
"Oh...That''s what I needed it for.....DAMN !!!!!!"

Dark    122
Well... If you ask me... math is essential... I have finished math classes for Calculus I & II, Lineair Algebra, Discrete Math and Algebra, Algebra, Graph Theory, Logic for CS and some other math classes... I think they are really usefull... however DO NOT THINK that if you can''t do these math classes that you can''t do programming. In my opinion it contributes to your general sense of what is going on... but you do not have to understand everything in order to use it (I mean... you can use math tricks just as well without understanding how it works, but it still is better to understand).

Secondly... Not only do you use pure math in programming... but knowing a bit about the math increases your insight into other situations (which don''t seem to be involved with math at all)

Email: e.j.folkertsma@student.utwente.nl

Tac-Tics    197