• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Preventing the loss of offscreen surfaces

This topic is 5860 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello Everyone, I'm somewhat new to DirectX and need some help. Currently, I'm designing a "windowed" DirectX application (not a game). The application will store several offscreen surfaces in video memory. The thing is, the application CANNOT RECREATE/RERENDER these offscreen surfaces if they are lost. And, from what I understand, whenever the video mode changes, DirectX may deallocate offscreen surfaces stored in video memory. This is bad. Is there a way to prevent the loss of offscreen surfaces (without storing them in system memory)? Or is there a way to prevent the video mode from being changed? Note that I'll be developing two versions of my app, one for NT which uses DirectX 3.0, and another version which uses DirectX 7.0 or 8.0. The NT version does not need to perfect however... Any ideas? Thanks in advance! Edited by - poozer on February 4, 2002 11:16:39 PM

Advertisement
Well, you could respond to the WM_ACTIVATEAPP message or whatever it''s called (it''s been a couple months, bear with me ) and re-create them when your app becomes activated again... it sounds like you can''t be sure when Direct X loses your surfaces, so thats all I can think of off the top of my head.

MOV ax, bx
asm programming
written by Jello

I appreciate the suggestion Jello.

Anyone other ideas? I'd prefer not to have to store/restore the offscreen surfaces everytime the application is activated or deactivated. This will occur a lot. Plus, the app will write to the offscreen surfaces while the application is deactivated...