Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Prime

Stars for DirectDraw Scrolling Background

Hey, I am looking at doing a starfield scrolling (in X and Y directions, approx. 100 stars) background, and I am wondering what the best options are. I have thought of a few ways, but I was hoping for some input as to what might be the most efficent. Some ideas might be: 1. Lock my backbuffer and set a bunch of pixels. 2. Have a star sprite and Blt that a bunch of times. 3. Have a tile with a few stars on it and Blt that a few times. Now, I know locking surfaces is supposed to be slow, but is it slower than Blting a small sprite 100 or so times? And using a tile seems to be a waste since there is so much empty space. Anyway, I''d appreciate any advice. Thanks. Prime.

I am no expert but I think a Blit of a single pixel or array of 100 pixels would be much faster than Blitting a square tile (bitmap). Hell, if the tile is 50x50 the your are drawing 250 pixels, imagine doing 50 tiles of 250 pixels.

Go with an array of 100 points and translate them from right to left across the screen.

If you want a nice "warp" effect. You can draw lines too. You just have to remember the last postition of the pixel (last frame) and draw a line between them. The really fun part about it is making paralax scrolling stars. The closer ones that move faster have longer lines, so it gives a very nice "warp" effect.

Always remember, you''''re unique. Just like everyone else.

If all you do in the app is to plot stars, then i think locking the surface and draw will be the fastest way. If the starfield is just a "background" effect in a game where you use blitting, you should blit the stars too.

Locking the surface is only slow if you lock it several times before flipping. But locking it only once and then plot thousands of stars in a nice short loop, is much faster than using blit.

I believe that most non-accellerated demos use surface locking.