Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

IndirectX

Not exactly D3D vs OGL, but...

I am relatively new to 3D programming. It happened so that I learned Direct3D instead of OpenGL (I didn''t know about NeHe when I started, and DXSDK''s tutorials were the best source I had). Now as I read D3D vs OGL forums, I get the feeling that I should at least try doing GL instead of D3D. But: If OpenGL is so much better, as people say, why are (many?) games built using Direct3D? Why do many commercial graphics software (games and not games) use Direct3D? Also, as I was running a demo from this forum with debug Direct3D runtime on my WinXP, the debug spew was labeled ''Direct3D8''. The program never loaded d3d.dll or d3d8.dll, but it did load ddraw.dll and (as debug output suggests) created DirectDraw surface, etc. So is OpenGL implemented using DirectDraw on Windows? If so, is it (theoretically) slower than Direct3D which does (I think) not rely on DirectDraw? Thank you for your insights into this.

Guest Anonymous Poster
Aaaahhh !! Dave, HEEELP !! Where is that FAQ !?

bah......................................................

OK... Lemme see... OpenGL isn''t necessarily better than D3D. They are somewhat different. OpenGL would be better IF Microsoft wasn''t such a beast. But the way things are, new graphics card features work their way into D3D sooner than OpenGL, so that''s a plus.

OpenGL was always much simpler to use than Direct3D, but with D3D8 the difference is more or less negligible.

More graphics cards supposed D3D, but ALL high-end cards, and most slower cards, support both.

BUT... Direct3D is for Windoze only. So, if you wanna programme for multiple OS''s, you need OpenGL.

I''m writing my 3D engine to support both, so that windows users can use Direct3D if they so desire.

I hope this answered some of your questions.

quote:
Original post by dusik