Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

CutterSlade

File operations in C++

Hi. I''m a total newbie in C++, and need some urgent help with file management in this language: - Which functions should I use to move, delete and rename files, and in which header files are those functions defined? - How does C++ reference folders and sub-folders in file paths? I tried the usual DOS/VB approach (c:\program files\Adope for example , but that doesn''t work. - Also, how can I reference a sub-folder without knowing which folder the main program is? (in DOS I used the period, for example, ./Sprites or whatever) Thanks in advance!

Make sure "hard coded" strings have two \ every time u use them
i.e. "c:\\Projects\\nuts\\data\\" as other wise they may be translated into other characters. "c:\Projects\nuts\data\" will cause c++ to place a newline at the \n (carriage return or lf i can''t remember (or both?)) and your string will most likely be open as \" is another escape sequence (i think that is what they are called)

You should be able to use . to refer to the current directory.
As for file functions look into rename,remove and as for moving well i can''t find a standard c lib function for that atm

As You get more advanced you will probably want to look into iostreams which is the c++ rather than the c way to do it

quote:
Original post by CutterSlade
- Which functions should I use to move, delete and rename files, and in which header files are those functions defined?

Those aren''t standard functions, they''re operating-system specific.

quote:
- How does C++ reference folders and sub-folders in file paths? I tried the usual DOS/VB approach (c:\program files\Adope for example , but that doesn''t work.