Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

How DO You Guys Remember?

This topic is 5776 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

How do you guys remember all these functions and such? There are so many of them. Do you just memorize them or do you always carry around a reference book? I am just learning DirectX and every time my book shows a function for the X time I''ll think "Now what did that do again?"

It''s like learning math. The more problems you work out the better you become at working out problems. Practice, practice, practic. And "perfect practice makes perfect play" - same goes for sports and music. Having a reference handy helps. MS publishes a lot of .chm files. They aren''t always as clear as they could be, but they make good references.

I always have MSDN (dated July 2k, which is why I need the other two) along with PSDK and DXSDK docs open whenever I open MSVC. Also take advantage of auto list members and auto parameter info in the IDE.

I dont remember anything. I have a really crappy memory, so I always have all the documentation available when programming.

The world holds two classes of men -- intelligent men without religion, and religious men without intelligence. Abu''l-Ala-Al-Ma''arri (973-1057; Syrian poet)

Write small functions/classes for everything you do, don''t write large ones. Name your functions and parameters well, and you won''t have to remember the exact names of the api calls that go on inside

- Kevin "BaShildy" King
Game Programmer: DigiPen
www.mpogd.com

APIs like d3d are good because they use a clear naming convention. After a while, you can guess what the function is going to be called, even if you''re not sure, since the method names follow a nice pattern.