Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

drdarkon

Questions for the Pros... is it worth it?

Okay everyone, Guy and gals, I am still in highschool, and seriously considering getting into the video game industry as a programmer. I have heard that the pay is not the best, but I''m not doing it for the money (although I assume the pay for progammers will go up as the industry matures). I really enjoy designing and making games. I am currently learning Direct X and learning to use Direct Draw. One thing I was wondering, is the industry that much fun? I know for me at home and with friends making games is fun because we do it together and have fun together doing it all. We really decide the way our game will go. What I am worried about is when I go to work somewhere as a programmer, I will get there, get stuck doing something very boring and not really being able to guide the game in any way. What I am saying, will working for a game company perhaps not be so much about the game as it is about the technical aspects, and thus will it not be too much fun? Do you guy/gals enjoy what you are doing? I''m just worried that by joining the industry I won''t really be getting into what I thought I was getting into. Okay thanks any comments etc appreciated. Also, just because I am curious, how many years have you been in the industry (if you are not in the industry still please post, I care what you think also). What do you do? Do you enjoy it? etc.. -Thanks