OpenGl or Direct X

Started by
9 comments, last by n3urai 22 years, 1 month ago
I am an experience C++ programmer for windows and linux and i want to get into game programming. I was wondering what was better to learn first. OpenGL or DirectX. Give me some opinions please. Keep It Real!
Keep It Real!
Advertisement
OpenGL.

(Psst, DirectX is only cool in the DirectX forum).

Rube
War approaching
;-)
i think the moderators should just go ahead and delete a thread like this as soon as they see it

"I pity the fool, thug, or soul who tries to take over the world, then goes home crying to his momma."
- Mr. T
I agree with ncsu121978.
"I'm never alone, I'm alone all the time" - Glycerine-Bush"It starts with one thing" In The End-Linkin Park
Sorry if i started something bad here. I just wanted to know from some people with experience what was better. I guess i will have to find out for myself.

Keep It Real!
Keep It Real!
Yeah. Its always best to find out by oneself, since no api is better.
;-)
I do not agree. As long as nobody is flaming, there's no need to close this thread.
The question is "what should I learn first in order to get into game programming?" not "what is the best API?".

Now, real world experience tells me that to start learning OpenGL NOW couldn't be the best choice.

OpenGL extensions mechanism has proven old and crappy after 10 years from its introduction... there's a reason why 3dlabs is pushing up OpenGL 2.0...
Furthermore a lot of games are developed using DirectX, and XBoX support for this API can help DirectX remaining on top of the hill.