• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

gamechampionx

Need help... urgent, with VB6

This topic is 6081 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I need to know how to make a text-label move quickly without being horribly choppy. I''m using a timer object, and I''m on the interval of 1, but it still sucks. Is there some way of delaying execution for a certain number of milliseconds, so that no timer object is needed. I need to work in milliseconds, not what the timer object uses. Thanks.

Advertisement
Your kidding yourself... I am a VB programmer, and if you want to make any kind of animation you better do it some other way, like API calls, or DirectX

1) Timer object DOES work in milliseconds
2) No posible way to use the Move method of an object without getting choppiness. WHy do you need this? I can detail other ways...

-----------------------------
Damnit Dave, I would have a link to Graphics Wars here, but you haven''t put it up on GDNet yet!

The sad thing about artificial intelligence is that it lacks artifice and therefore intelligence.

Democracy is where you say what you want and do what you''re told.

I need this because I''m making a game, and I want to animate the text on the story page. Everything I''ve tried looks like utter crap because it''s so CHOPPY! A timer''s interval seems to coarse, how does the number system work, I don''t think it''s milliseconds. Anyway, I just want to make the text move smoothly.
The kind of code I''m using is Label1.Left = Label1.Left + 1, and that sort of thing, using various if statements. I understand the language very well, and the text does what I want, just too choppy.

use the api timegettime

public sub pause(numseconds)
time1=timegettime()
do
'' do events ?
repeat until timegettime-time1>=numseconds
end sub