• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

bobby

OpenGL NeHe OpenGL Lesson 1 question

This topic is 6076 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

All, Hi.. I''m am very new to OpenGL programming so I am studying the NeHe tutorials. I have a question regarding the first tutorial. I have successfully coded and compiled lesson1.cpp in Microsoft Visual C++ 6.0. The program runs fine except when I switch the window to FUll screen mode. When I do this I get the "Can''t Create A GL Rendering Context" message box. Since I''m not exactly sure what a Redering Context is, I don''t know how to debug this. I have typed in the code myself and downloaded the MVCPP version from the NeHe website and both versions of the program give me the same error. Could this be a hardware problem? I am not sure what graphics card I have, but I know OpenGL programs run on my computer because I''ve successfully run programs from the OpenGL superbible CD. Is there a way of determining what graphics card I have? Or a way to know if I have a conflict of some sort? Why would I only having problems in Full Screen Mode? I would appreciate any help. Thanks in advance. Bobby P.S. Oh I am running a Gateway Solo Pentium III laptop with Windows 98.

Advertisement
On one of my machines I have a voodo 3 and it does the same thing, could it be possible that you have a voodoo card in your computer? But its running WindowsME so I''m not sure if the OS would be the problem, but it might.

I believe you shouldn''t even make a RC when you switch from fullscreen to windows or vise versa... maybe you included a piece ''o code in the wrong place? (Maybe I am wrong tho )

''Qui habet aures audiendi audiat'' - Me

A link to the website of my 3D engine will follow as soon as I have something concrete to show... Which will be soon.