Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Problems in displaying Graphics

This topic is 5747 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am new in OpenGL. I tried drawing a Square and a triangle, with the triangle in front of the square with a distance of 0.01f in the z axis. The problem is that when i rotated the view to the back, the triangle is still in front of the square, which shouldn''t be the case. The grahics generated seems to integrate each other producing some weird lines on the triangle too. I am using the NeHe Tutorial 2 to do this... Can anyone tell me what is wrong? I just want the triangle to appear sticking on to the square...

Hello, I am also new to OpenGL, but it sounds to me like you're having some z-fighting. Z-fighting happens when two objects are too close together (Your computer has trouble deciding which one to show first, so it tries to show both on the same plane). Try moving the triangle away from the square a bit more.

[edited by - Kaelus on March 21, 2002 11:43:50 PM]

I know how to solve your problem with Direct3D8 (it''s actually very simple).

I did some digging and there are a number of ways to do it with OpenGL.

The official OpenGL website has a lot to say about it. One way is to tweak the far and near clipping planes when rendering overlapping primitives. Check it out at this link:

http://www.opengl.org/developers/faqs/technical/polygonoffset.htm

I don''t know which method is best in OpenGL. Direct3D provides a way to do it for you, and if I had to guess it just adds 1 to the value it stores in the Z Buffer for each pixel. However adding 1 would create other problems in some situations.

Actually, the best solution is usually multi-texturing, but that is not always possible.

--TheMuuj

Oops.. I may have misread your problem.