Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

dogfallzone

new programmer

I have a brother that wants to get into game programming. He is 13 years old. Do you thinks he is to young? If not, what language should he start with? If you have a answer e-mail me at dogfallzone@yahoo.com

That''s a fine age to start at. As for where he should start, here would be a good place.

==========================================
Paranoia
Look at the Star
That I took from the sky
I''ve spent many years
trying to climb that high
It burnt my hands
and i know it will never be mine
The approach
is always unsure
It''s no wonder I''ve never
tried this before
I''ve walked away
and i know it will never be mine

Lyrics from Next of Kin (my band)

13 is a great age to start programming at. I started programming seriously at the age of 12. Personally, i think he sould learn C/C++ right off the bat, it is the most popular language, and the most widely used.

------------------------------
If someone asks you "A penny for your thoughts" and you put your two cents in, do you get change?

[edited by - GarlandIX on March 21, 2002 12:49:43 AM]

13 is a good age to start. I started when I was about 10 but wasnt serious till about 12-13. Ahh the good ol TRS-80....

-Todd

I mean absolutely no offense by this but...

How the hell can you guys say you were seriously programming at 12 or 13? Thats just not healthy, whatever happened to normal kid stuff? Maybe its my definition that differs from the one your using, to my mind "seriously programming" means that you program almost on a daily basis and for hours not minutes at a time. And i''m not talking about some scripting either.

Jeez i think at that time i was more concerned with when we would get to blow things up in chem lab or skiving off to play magic the gathering.