help please

Started by
1 comment, last by razor2002 22 years ago
Hi i am new at Open gl i started to get into this a few days ago after i saw some open gl apps. ive followed some online tutorials and tried making some open gl stuff. well i have a little problem, i have borland v5.5 (free) and when i put in a code for open gl i get a error: Error: Unresolved external ''_main'' referenced from D:\C\C0X32.OBJ in order to compile it i do this: i have the .cpp file and in dos i put in: bcc32 -tW "the program name here".cpp i do knot know if there is a different command to make an open gl app or soemthing i dont know, i also tried it without the -tW and then i get like 8 errors. Also i noticed that many online tutorials just say go to : file>>new project>> ect.. and i have no clue what are they talkin about cause borland dosent have an actuall windows program its just in DOS. Is there a different program for that that i dont know about? if anyone would take their time to clear this up for me i would really appreciate it. Some links to easy to understand tutorials would help also , thanx! i am also a novice c++ programer.And web master thanx for your time.
Advertisement
dont know much about the borland compiler but unresolved external _main usually means you are compiling a windows program (which entry point is WinMain, and not main) as a console (DOS) app, check your command line options to see what is it that you should use.

the "file>>new project>> etc.." instructions you have seen refer to the compilers IDE, which is an aplication with menus, toolbars and what not that makes using the compiler easier, id'' say 75% of the time they refer to the Visual C++ IDE, the other 25% refers to dev-c++ borland C++ builder, etc, etc. they usually tell you what compiler and IDE they are using so just pay attention to that.