Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

lackluster

Deleting Damage

a_ColSize = new long [cbCols-1];
a_ColType = new long [cbCols-1];
delete a_ColSize; // DAMAGE

delete a_ColType; // DAMAGE

Here's the (run-time) error I'm getting from MSVC .NET :
quote:
DAMAGE after normal block #34 after 0xffffff { #34 = Random Number } { 0xffffff = Random Address }
Can anybody explain to me my error here? I can't seem to figure it out. I've never used new / delete before, so it's most likely a newbie thing I'm overlooking. Edited by - lackluster on March 23, 2002 12:58:46 AM Edited by - lackluster on March 24, 2002 1:00:53 AM

well i do know this
a_ColSize and a_ColType are pointers to arrays
so delete them like this

delete [] a_ColSize;
delete [] a_ColType;

"I pity the fool, thug, or soul who tries to take over the world, then goes home crying to his momma."
- Mr. T

You usally get this message when you dance around in memory you yourself did not allocate, then you try to delete the dynamic allocation. Say for example you dynaminally allocate at memory address 3000 - then you access memory address 3001...after you try to delete the allocation - You "damaged" a section of memory. Damage in this essence means that you filthed up someone elses playground

I got this DAMAGE error message when i allocated an array and started going beyond the bounds of it - when the class went out of scope, and the delete got called - BAM! this error message pops up.

ncsu121978,
thanks for the tip, but it did not help - I have left it in my code, however because I believe you are correct

Programmer One,
Thanks for the reply, but it is not possible I am trying to access this memory, becasue I have set a breakpoint on delete and that''s exactly where it crashes.

quote:
Original post by lackluster
Programmer One,