• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

multiple texture scenes & lightmapping question

This topic is 5788 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

ok so i''m just messin with d3d, making a little 3d engine in my free time. i have lots of experience with software engines and writing them from scratch so most of this stuff in d3d is easy to understand. couple of questions though. obviously d3d and hardware loves to process a lot of verticies at once. how do you have a vertex buffer full of polys that can have lots of different textures? i don''t see how you switch textures to the one you need if you wanna make one render call (say for the current leaf i''m traversing in a tree) for many polys with different textures. in software it''s easy, group em all together in the buffer, set the texture and render the amount of polys with that texture, set the next texture, render the next batch. but from my understanding, calling d3d to render batches like that would be slow because of the multiple calls. especially if you have a very diversely textured scene. how to do it with a single call? also if i wanna have a lightmap based engine with precalced lightmaps loaded. what have any of you found to work best? is your world mostly quads? if i''m building a world based on triangles only, how to keep switching which lightmaps to use? btw, any good d3d information sites? i''ve gotten about all the info i can out of the help file. i need some real world application help.

Advertisement
Thats one of the decisions you gotta make, man...either storming fast gameplay, or detailed textured scenes...