Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

vector gibberish.

This topic is 5752 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I have no experience with vectors, so this is probably a simple question for most. My 3d game has an overhead, isometricish-style camera view with doesn''t change, but it can be zoomed in and out. The code below sets my Camera''s veiw vector permanently. What I''m having trouble with is this...I need a formula that can be given a y value along this vector, and I need it to solve for the z value at the same point along this vector. So like if I wanted to put something at a height of 25 on the y axis, yet have it centered in the middle of my screen, I''d need to slap it right on that view vector, so I''d need the corresponding Z value. ViewV.x = (float)(PositionV.x + cos(90.0*PI/180.0)); ViewV.z = (float)(PositionV.z + sin(200.0*PI/180.0)); ViewV.y = (float)(PositionV.y + cos(200.0*PI/180.0));

I don''t quite follow the question. Your view vector should not include the position. Assuming the camera is at a position that is substantially more than a distance of one from the origin your view vector is going to basically point away from the origin. Your view vector is just a direction, not a position. It should have a magnitude of one.