Using lotsa' memory under Windows

Started by
13 comments, last by Eric 24 years, 1 month ago
I am working on a game to be run in Windows so that I can utilize DirectX, and I need like 12 MB RAM for a particular array. The game is actually almost a port from a DOS version I did years ago; back then, I used a DOS extender to allocate such large arrays. I have very little Windows programming experience, btw. So I''m reading about Windows memory recently in their platform SDK: Apparently your process gets 2 GB to squander, which sounded great until I read that Windows might just decide to store my array on disk instead of RAM. Loading a 12-meg file every cycle will not help my frame-rate. Actually, I guess you can ''lock'' memory to guarantee that it stays in RAM, so maybe that''s not an issue. Still, my question is this: Do games running under Windows generally use this virtual memory system? Since the virtual address you''re given isn''t the actual, physical address of your stuff, it sounds very inefficient/slow. Also, if this is *not* the prescribed method of getting lotsa'' memory under Windows, what is? Thanks for your help
Advertisement
I use GlobalAlloc() to allocate memory. as long as you specify GMEM_FIXED you don''t have to worry about it being moved to virtual mem. I allocate all my mem with this flag and then handle disk swapping myself. This way i know exactly what occupies physical memory and what lies on the disk.
oops i forgot to mention that GlobalAlloc() with GMEM_FIXED does return a pointer to the actual address of the memory instead of a HGLOBAL as with moveable memory.