Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Dark_Streak

Wierdest thing I've ever, ever, ever seen.

Dark_Streak    122
Ok, I will come straight out with it and admit that, yes, I am a beginner OpenGL programmer. So the reason behind my problem will naturally be something stupidly blatantly obvious, so please but my out my misery and tell me what I'm doing wrong. I am getting the strangest results ever, check this out: I am drawing a triangle from these vertices - CVector3 trivertices[3] = {CVector3(-4.0f,2,0.8),CVector3(4,0,0.8),CVector3(-4.0f,0,0.8)}; The triangle is drawn incorrectly. It ignores the x vertice, in other words if I change the x vertice values, the triangle's x vertice is still drawn in the same wrong place. Okay, now heres the wierd part. If I define a variable called test in front of the above line of code, my triangle, using the trivertices variable is drawn correctly!!!!! So my code will look something like this: CVector3 test[3] = {CVector3(0,0,0),CVector3(0,0,0),CVector3(0,0,0)}; CVector3 trivertices[3] = {CVector3(-4.0f,2,0.8),CVector3(4,0,0.8),CVector3(-4.0f,0,0.8)}; And get this, if I change the name of the test variable to something else, it doesnt work! Yes, thats right, if I call it Bob or something, my triangle is drawn wrong. So I change the name back to 'test', and it works!!!! AAAAAGH WHAT THE F***?!?!?!?!?!?! How, why is this happening?? It makes absolutely no sense. What the hell is going on? Do you realise how long it took me to work out that naming a variable 'test' would have an affect on something not even related. I am having a break down please help Im sorry, should I have posted this in the beginners section? I only posted it here in opengl because It's such a wierd problem I thought it may be opengl specific. If any one does know whats going on with this wierd test variable, please please reply. [edited by - Dark_Streak on May 2, 2002 8:03:02 PM]

zedzeek    528