Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

zackriggle

I need this yesterday

What I need is a couple of functions for Win32. They would be: 1.) A cout-type function for Win32, but instead it can (i don''t think there is a way around it) be placed at an X,Y coordinate. 2.) A button class that can be placed at an X,Y coordinate, and returns TRUE if clicked. 3.) A menu class that has a Title for the drop-down, several (8 max preferably) choices that do not appear blank when they do not hold anything, and return TRUE when selected. As you most likely can tell, I am very new to Win32 and want to get on the fast track to getting things done (and in time for my report). BTW im 13 gimme a break

Guest Anonymous Poster
For 1, you need to research GDI, which is the windows way of drawing stuff, including text.
For 2 and 3, if you have Visual C++, you''re in luck. You can use the resource editor to create buttons and menus. When a user clicks on your window controls, a message gets sent to the program. You handle the messages in a WindowProc function.

I don''t think you can do all this by yesterday, even if today were two days ago. I suggest you get a good Win32 programming book. Also, the Visual C++ docs cover everything.

Kids these days...

This is exactly what I was talking about in the behavior thread. People coming to to forums like its some sort of service, demanding that other people use their time to create solution to the problems the poster isn''t willing to make effort to do themselves. The fact that this is for a report suggests that either 1) He/She already had classes teaching him/her this stuff and they skipped/didn''t pay attention or 2) was given enough time to do an independant research assignment, which he/she has obviously left to the last moment. I wouldn''t have been so up in arms about this post if it had said in other way, maybe:

quote:
Imaginary poster