• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Icetray81

About Graphics

This topic is 6819 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi i am a C++ programmer, that has about 6 monthes or so total worth of programming experience. A while ago I attempted to make pong with simple dos graphics, and although It was basically a success, i was disappointed with the graphics. I would really enjoy learning how to work with stuff such as bmps, or higher graphics then simply 8 bits. I usually use an old version of TC(3.0). But I also have TC (4.5)

Advertisement
I would suggest dumping turbo c in favor of microsoft''s visual c++. I hated the transition from DOS to windows programming at first because they are two totally separate worlds, but once you get over the hump of learning the basics it becomes much more fun. I would work on learning mfc first. It is big and bulky, but it is easy to program and is a good way to learn the basics of the windows environment and also object oriented programming. Once you are pretty comfortable with that you should be able to learn win32 very quickly which is the smaller, faster, bare bones approach. then you can start exploring the dx sdk for creating your games. it sounds like a lot of work and a lot of extra steps to reach a goal, but I would highly recommend it because the days of DOS are long gone.

There are books that come with stripped versions of Visual C++ for free (like LaMothe''s book). Combine that with the DirectX SDK (also free with the book) and Microsoft''s web site (much of Microsoft Developer''s Network CD-ROM for free) and you are in the big league.

---
Grandpa Simpson - "I never thought I could shoot down a German plane, but last year I proved myself wrong!"

I disagree with ThomasAtwood.

If you want to program games, then why bother witch MFC ?